National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada
Conseil national de la presse et des medias ethniques du Canada


Canada’s Other Voices

Office of the President
October 14, 2014

Lieuftenant Governor to Honour Award Winners
                                From the

The Honourable  Elizabeth Dowdeswell, 29th Lieuftenant Governor of Ontario, will present certificates and the medal of the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada. Recipients include 15 publishers/editors, 9 journalists, 12 individuals and 3 directors of electronic media, who made significant long term contribution to the ethnic press and communities of Canada.
The ceremony will take place on Friday, November 14, 2014 in the Lieutenant Governor’s Suite at Queen’s Park.
  Time: 6:00 pm

Location: Lieuftenant Governor’s Suite
Ontario Legislative Building
West entrance (Media I.D will be required and must arrive by 5:30)
Queen’s Park

Directions: Filming and photos can be taken during the ceremony.


AWARD Recipients


Category: “Distinguished Services to Communities” 

1.- JOLLIFFE, ERIC (Humanities/Public Service/Community)

Chief, York Regional Police

2.- SLOLY, PETER (Public Service/Human Rights/ Equality)

Deputy Chief  Toronto Police


Individuals: “For Services Rendered to their Community”

3.- ESANANDA, ESA PARA     (Humanities/ Culture/Education) (Sri Lankan)
4.-  FAZL, SAYED Hassan, DR. (Humanities/ Education/ Community)              (Afghani)
5.-  GEKAS, GEORGE  Dr.    (Community Service/ Education/ Arts) (Greek)
6-  HAUSMAN, ROBERTO (Charles)          (Humanities/ Culture/ Education) (Uruguay)
7-  MAYE, MARGARET         (Humanities/ Philanthropy/ Arts) (Polish)
8-   SRITHARAN, NATHAN     (Humanities/ Community/ Arts)                         (South Asian)
9.-  TISSENBAUM, SIMONE         (Leader of Tomorrow/ Humanities)                                                 (Student)
10.-  TOWHID, NOMAN          (Community Service/ Education) (Bangladeshi)
11.-  VIEIRA, EDUARDO (Community Service/  Journalism)                      (Portuguese)


Category:  Journalists
(For Life Time Services rendered to Journalism)

1.-  AMIR  MAHIM      (For his dedication to Media and His service to Community)


2.-  ESTEVES  ANTONIO    (For his talent and contribution to integration into Canadian Society of the Portuguese communities in Canada)                                                             


3.-  ISLAM  SARIFUL       (For His dedication and talents in support of the media) (Bangladeshi)
4.- KARATSIKIS, KONSTANTINOS   (Life Time Achievements)                                     


5 -   KUMOR  ANDREZEJ    (For his enthusiasm and efforts to inform the Polish Canadian Communities)                                                                                                                 


6.-  NISHANTHA  DON    (For His dedication to Free Press and Democracy)    

(Sri Lankan)


(For Her Dedication to Media. Her Services to all Canadians)

(CBC- Pilipino)
8-   SARKER  BIDYUT    (For his dedication to respect of Human Rights and His services to Bengali Canadian Communities.)                                                                               



Category: Newspapers
“For Best Editorial / Free Expression / Long years of Service / Concept and Visual Presentation”

1.-  AFGHAN  POST (Ahmad Shah Hotaki) (Afghani)
2.-   ARABIA  NEWS                (Alseyet Nasser) (Arabic)
3.-    EL CENTRO                                    (Susana Hernandez Donan) (Latino)
4.-- “GHANAIAN NEWS”                       (Emmanuel Ayiku) (Ghanaian)
5.-  “LATVIJA AMERIKA”                     (Vita, Gaike)                              (Latvian)
6.-   “LO SPECCHIO” (Sergio Tagliavini) (Italian)
7.-   “OBSERVATORUL” (Dumitru Popescu)                     (Romanian)
8.-    “PHILIPPINE REPORTER” Hermie Garcia                                (Filipino)
9.-   “SRI LANKA REPORTER”               (Srimal Abeyewardene)                    (Sri Lankan)   
10.-  “TZTA  ETHIOPIAN”                       (Teshome WoLdeamanuel)                   (Ethiopian)
11.-  “URDU POST”                    (Rafiq, Ahmed –Deputy Editor-) (Urdu)
12.-  “UTHAYAN”                          (Logan Logendralingam)                               (Tamil)



ETC & TAL Magazine           ISA MELO                                  (Brazilian)
HAFTEH  magazine                  SHEMIRANIE KHOSRO                      (Iranian)          
PLANET AFRICA Magazine      MOSES A. MAWA (African Media)



Enzo Di Mauro        (Italicus.Ca Video Magazine) (Italian)
GALIATSOS  PETER                     (VIDEOGRAPHER) (Greek)
Paulton  McKenzie-Johnson            (Caribbean Headlines News) (Caribbean)


We thankfully acknowledge financial support received from the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration of Ontario and the Toronto Dominion (TD) Banking Group, towards this project.